Celebrity Status: SOLIDIFIED

16 Jun

Today, I was interviewed on a live talk show which airs on Colombian National Television to promote AIESEC, completely in spanish! You know, just another day in the life of an AIESEC trainee. I was very nervous beforehand since the entire show is conducted in Spanish. All of the Aiesecos said, “No, you will be fine, don’t worry another trainee is going to be getting interviewed, too.” Me: “Oh yeah, where’s he from?” -“Mexico.” Me: “Oh, right, I’m sure he’ll be struggling a lot with his Spanish on live national television, excellent.” Luckily there were other Aiesecos Colombianos being interviewed as well, and we were all on screen at the same time…I understood 2 out of my 3 questions, but on the last one I had to turn to Andrea next to me for further explanation. I think I will be able to see a recording of it at some point, it played on Teleantioquia. I have pictures of it that I will post soon. You won’t want to miss the pictures because this show was serious business, I even had to go into makeup before the show! I came out with maquillaje latina, which on me looks extremely scary. The makeup artist got a little overzealous with the eyeliner. I don’t know if any close-ups were taken…so you just might not get to see the full effect, but I’m sure you can only imagine.

After the show we went to a sports complex to play sand volleyball. It was wonderful because I feel much more comfortable playing volleyball than I do talking in Spanish. The Colombians take warming up very seriously. Before playing, at least 4 people asked me if I was going to go warm up and run some laps. “No, estoy bien.” Granted, the people who were “warming up,” were running at practically a walking pace and/or making sand angels. Playing was fun, and afterwards I got to experience the “bolso de agua” phenomenon which I knew nothing about previously. It literally is water in a bag. When I got it I had no idea what to do with it, though. But Ana showed me quickly, “you just bite the corner off.” Ahh, right, (kind of) easier than it looks. Let’s just say I’m glad they gave us straws with the milk pouches/bags of milk they gave us in elementary school.

I’m glad my AIESEC friends here all know enough english to help me out when I say, “Como se dice _____ en espanol.” But I’ve noticed that while some of the younger generation here knows English, it seems that barely anyone beyond the age of 30 does. However, that does not stop the hotel receptionist on duty right now from belting out, “Eye of the Tiger” which is on the radio right now (he doesn’t know I’m sitting in the “computer room,” although I don’t think that would actually stop him from singing) There are many songs from the United States that get played on the radio, but when the receptionist sings along he probably has absolutely no idea what he is saying or what it means. But for that matter, I know english and I’m not sure that even I know what “Eye of the Tiger” means.

Last but not least, today I also got to meet the mom and little brother of Santiago, the reception coordinator. His hermanito is named Juan Diego, and is probably one of the cutest kids I have ever seen. He is only two years old, but already he knew to give me a kiss on the cheek when he first met me and then when he was leaving. That is how everyone greets eachother here, but I can’t believe at two he already knew!

Adios de Colombia! Besos!

6 Responses to “Celebrity Status: SOLIDIFIED”

  1. Carybeth June 16, 2007 at 6:01 am #

    Aww Molly, I’m so jealous of all your adventures, it sounds like so much fun!! I’m so happy for you. :)Post pictures soon! Love you!

  2. Kristen June 16, 2007 at 2:48 pm #

    My dearest brave little Molly, I am sooooo proud of you! You were so nervous about using your Spanish, but I knew you would be fine. You said I was better at Spanish than you, but I’m sure when you come back you can trump me any day!🙂

  3. Peter June 16, 2007 at 3:08 pm #

    Wow, Molly, that is awesome!Glad to see you’re settling in greatly!Good luck, and I agree, post pictures!

  4. SarahEliz June 16, 2007 at 5:11 pm #

    bolsitas de agua, postobon manzana… you will be colombian before you know it🙂

  5. John June 16, 2007 at 8:35 pm #

    any chance that interview will be on youtube?I don’t understand why warming up is so important in a climate which is already so hott!!!!arrrharharhar

  6. mp June 18, 2007 at 8:36 pm #

    way to represent!!!

Leave a Reply

