Bears. Beets. Battlestar Gallactica.

8 Aug

I tried to write this post before, but it wouldn’t let me post it for mysterious reasons unbeknownst to me.

excerpt from an email from my brother:

Dwight Schroot: Are you excited?
Ryan: Yes.
DS: Are you very excited?
Ryan: No.
DS: Okay, you’re just excited.
later…
DS: I’m very excited.

am i excited? yes. am i very excited? yes. bears. beets. battlestar galactica.

The message of that post was Colombia should get ready…but Ben’s here, and I think Colombia’s handling it very well.

On the other hand Luna, our dog, is not handling the situation very well. Ben thinks that Luna knows that he hated her before he ever even met her. Because, when we got to the house at like 12:30 (at night) after getting Ben at the airport, Ben stuck his hand down for Luna to smell….and she freaked out when he was like five feet away from her. It was so bazaar…granted Luna isn’t a one bark wonder…and she proceeded to bark at extremely high decibel levels for the next, at least, 19 minutes. It was a little ridiculous. Ben said he wanted to kill her. I also wanted to in that moment. haha.

Anyways in other animal news: Lupe has now stopped pooping in showers (I think that is mainly because she doesn’t have access to the showers) she now pees everywhere in the house….and the oh so delightful and familiar smell of cat pee (thank you wishbone) have once again taken a hold on my life. Dad, I’m beginning to think that you shouldn’t have gotten rid of Wishbone, you should have just gotten rid of me…I seem to attract cats that pee in inappropriate places in my life.

Time has gone by so fast: I only have a week and a half left of working…then we’re going to the coast! Cynthia already leaves on Monday, crazy! Alexandria leaves on the 25th, Jason and I leave on the 27th.

We had a global village on Monday where our peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and bagels and cream cheese were quite a hit. We also taught key english phrases like: foshizzle my nizzle (thank you lucas for that lovely suggestion). Pretty much everyone that stopped at the U.S. table wanted to know what we thought of President Bush…um, yeah. Then we had our closing party on a chiva….and this chiva was so much better than the one that I went on in Manizales, I stayed awake for the whole thing! It was quite fun(ny) and entertaining. For some reason the Colombians decided to drink a lot that night. Whenever I think about it, I just start laughing.

oh and p.s. dad: I heard from a little bird that you’ve been spreading rumors that I’ve been drinking a lot, and the word alcoholic may have even come up?! what’s that about. c’mon now. I know when your laughs get a joke you like to tell them again, but that joke is just inappropriate…you should have come visit me and you could’ve seen me in action at work…talk to ben, he sat in my office all morning!

p.s. SYDNEY: we all know you want to leave a comment, and I think you should definitely do it.🙂

4 Responses to “Bears. Beets. Battlestar Gallactica.”

  1. SarahEliz August 8, 2007 at 11:51 pm #

    For some reason the Colombians decided to drink a lot that night. Just wanted to let you know that this phrase made me laugh and I find it a *little* out of place, since Colombians almost always find *some reason* to drink a lot. Not quite Madison level, but ya know.On a more serious note… not many people are lucky enough to be able to “blend their realities” so to speak and share their experiences abroad with people close to them back at home. Make the most of it. Spread the impact as much as you possibly can while your bro is there.

  2. Camilo Buitrago August 9, 2007 at 3:39 am #

    Hey Molly, como estas? por fin comento en tu blog. Lo de la decisión de tomar se hizo por que al otro día era festivo y por que el trago venía con la chiva entonces era A+B= 60 colombianos borrachos + otro resto del mundo borrachos.Espero que la hayas pasado rico! Chao

  3. syd August 9, 2007 at 2:37 pm #

    i just started hysterically laughing when i read your PS…i guess cynthia got my email and shared it with the colombian world…you guys are in the best country with the best aiesecers. period. reading your blogs makes me want to do my post-graduate traineeship in colombia even more than after i met the colombians in mexico! (at AXLDS)q les vaya bien! y cynthia…nos vemos pronto chica.

  4. Anonymous August 10, 2007 at 4:15 am #

    molly, I won’t spread any rumors about you if you don’t spread any about me. Happy Travels, dad

Leave a Reply

