Whirlwind

17 Sep

Well, I knew it would be out of control crazy busy when I got back to the states, but maybe not this busy. It’s September 17th and I’m still working on getting all of my things in order. The sudden challenge of needing to keep “United States time,” has not proved to be easy…granted I didn’t really do a very job before I left either.

When I was leaving Colombia I felt like I was actually ready to leave, although I think that was mainly attributed to my coastal sickness and all of the problems I encountered with my visa. But now, it makes not even 3 weeks that I’ve been home, and I want to be back in Colombia. When people used the phrase home sickness, I had never really identified with the sickness part. When I went off to summer camp, etc. I would really miss my family, my brother and sisters, and friends, but I wasn’t sick over it. I guess right now I am experiencing my first bout of, well I guess just sickness, in a way that your body yearns to be somewhere else. Maybe we can call it home sickness, because I can’t see my life without it including Colombia as my home for at least a little bit more somewhere along the line.

I find myself thinking in Spanish, “seeing” my Colombian friends walking down the street, and turning merengue music on only to dance around my room solitašŸ˜¦ I miss the warmness of the people, the place, and the word “tranquila.” I miss laughter being acceptable always and everywhere, and not seen as an outburst, but rather as a suggestion for others to follow. I remember Lucas always saying that gringos were crazy…and I think he’s right, they’re crazy not because they act crazy, but because they can be so uptight and unfriendly–never would an estadounidense Marta (see earlier blog) call me after meeting me for 30 seconds on the metro…and the reason is not because we don’t have a metro in Madison.

Ohhh Medellin, Paisas, Colombia– how I miss thee!

4 Responses to “Whirlwind”

  1. Frank D September 20, 2007 at 1:33 pm #

    I know exactly how you feel!It’s been 3 years, 120 days and 25 minutes since I came back from Colombia…:( can’t wait to go back.

  2. SarahEliz September 20, 2007 at 2:28 pm #

    that post almost brought tears to my eyes… because after making Colombia my home for a year, I can relate to absolutely everything you said. I don’t think that a day goes by that I don’t miss it and wonder when and how I will be able to return.

  3. Lucas September 21, 2007 at 6:31 pm #

    MollyyyyyyyyyyyyyyySiempre me llenas de energĆ­a parce!!! Ya sabes q si quieres pasaporte colombiano, hay muchis chicos que te lo peuden dar.Te esperamos pronto, muy pronto. AquĆ­, en esta…TU CASA.Besos

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Different, but the Same « Not Lost in Translation - December 5, 2010

    […] I was extremely excited to see Carybeth and Teresa, and I have literally been counting down the days til my return to Medellin ever since I left in 2007. […]

Leave a Reply

