I decided today I must never grow old

28 Sep

I decided today I must never grow old. I came to this realization as I was sitting in my staff meeting…where I was the only person under 30. Let me back track a little and tell you about my job…

My title is: Campus and Community Non-profit Partnerships Technology Coordinator. A mouthful, eh? When people ask me what I do I always give very ambiguous responses, I guess because I’m still figuring it out. Basically, a team made up of a professor, a civic engagement coordinator on campus, and a guy from the community who runs a non-profit won a grant to create and implement a program pairing university resources (mainly students) with Dane County non-profits specifically to facilitate technology support. And that is as far as we are…we have the grant, we’ve made up a team of representatives from Dane County non-profits, and we plan on pursuing our goals through community-based research and surveying, holding a seminar for UW-students in the spring, etc. etc. we’re still figuring it out.

The reason I can’t grow old though, is because in this meeting it seemed like once you hit about age 35 you just talk so damn slow, ALL the time. I know I am often accused of speaking at warp speeds…but c’mon. We spent an hour and a half at the meeting! If the entire meeting would have been conducted at my talking speed, we would have been in and out of there in 20 minutes. And not only was it slow talking…because slow talking can be nice–you think “oh, at a speed where it leaves opportunities for people to jump in and give their 2 cents,” right? Wrong! This group had it perfectly choreographed that the last word of someone, was the first of the next. I was trying my hardest not to yawn.

In other news: I’m excited because there is a Colombian human rights speaker coming to Madison on October 10th.
http://www.news.wisc.edu/14195 (I still can’t place links in the text of my blog when I use the browser Safari on my mac: stupid. But, I am in web design class right now, and we’re learning how to handcode html, so I’m pretty sure my blog is going to be ridic in no time at all: cool)

And finally, I have a shout out for Frank D. I always thinks it’s cool when people I don’t know read my blog! However, Frank D I also have advice for you….your last post told me that it’s been 3 years since you left Colombia and you still knew when you had left to the minutes…so what are you waiting for? Go back already! And then write a blog…so we can read all about YOUR adventures.

šŸ™‚

One Response to “I decided today I must never grow old”

  1. Danny September 28, 2007 at 7:29 pm #

    Hey Molly,I graduated from Madison last May and I am 100% with you on the tediousness of working with old people. Meetings drag on with people repeating themselves and each other over and over and over again. I’ve since decided that when I start up a non-profit I am going to hire only people who speak with brevity and have a detectable pulse.WORD,Danny

Leave a Reply

