life, liberty, and happiness?

13 Oct

“The Dream is in there somewhere. Sometimes it takes some digging. Maybe digging is The Dream. I never figured it out. But I held onto my shovel.”

Oh Mr. Williams, sometimes you are so wise, you’ve gotten props twice in my blog this week. You should be impressed with yourself.

However, this statement makes me think of the phrase: “The pursuit of happiness.”

A few weeks ago I was walking through Library Mall at night, and they were playing a movie (which I have no idea what it was), but I passed through just at the moment to hear the segment: “Maybe they wrote it as ‘the pursuit of happiness,’ because they already knew that’s all it could ever be, a pursuit.” I find that statement a little dismal, but perhaps somewhat true, I mean the constitution says: We hold these truths to be self evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their creator with certain unalienable rights, that among these are life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. (I still have that memorized from 5th grade, and as a child I was no more of a time manager than I am now, so I learned that the night before it was tested…whoever said cramming wasn’t effective?)

Why didn’t it just say that we are entitled to life, liberty, and happiness?

3 Responses to “life, liberty, and happiness?”

  1. Burbs October 14, 2007 at 1:31 am #

    The Dream is what it is and perseveres. As it should

  2. Frank D October 14, 2007 at 1:34 am #

    Hey thanks a lot for the S.Out!by the way I haven’t been able to go back to my beloved Colombia due to my work and school scheduling but in a year from now when I graduate… well the plan is to start my own business down there I’m thinking Cali or Bogota, only time will tell.

  3. Nirmalan October 15, 2007 at 1:04 am #

    That’s easy Molly – the State can provide you with life and liberty because it’s the one product for everyone and it’s within the State’s power to give. It can’t guarantee us happiness – each of us gets happy over different things. All it can do is promise to provide us with whatever we need to make ourselves happy – so it promises to let you pursue happiness. You’re reading too much into it!🙂

Leave a Reply

