To the old man with the white beard on the sea foam green bicycle:

7 Nov

Thank you.

You make me smile, because you don’t ever stop smiling. In fact, when you go on your little bicycle rides around campus I think it may be your personal mission to smile insistently at people, not stopping until others’ awkwardness or uncomfortableness with this act is physically evidenced in their change of walking pace, twitching lip corners, averted glances, etc.

I hope in your head you are thinking: “Joke’s on you suckas!! This is how I wanted you all to feel.”

There’s a slight chance that you are legitimately this nice, in which case, props to you, sir.

He’s out on campus today: be on the lookout for him.

In other news:

1. Archer Farms, the food brand that Target carries, is good. Today I am eating these potato cheddar things, and yesterday I had spinach and feta in phyllo dough.

2. Fast-talking adults do exist (I had expressed concern that they do not in an earlier post)!! I had to go to a National Community Based Research conference two weeks ago in St. Paul, MN for my job and I was the only undergraduate there. Which meant I got to spend the weekend chatting with professors who are actually passionate and motivated to be doing the work they are doing, as well as fast-talking. I am going to chat more about CBR in a future post.

3. Who wants to teach me microeconomics/laugh at me for not (really trying to) understanding it?

4. I realized I am, in every sense of the word, addicted to the internet and my computer. I check my email every five minutes and find myself disappointed when there is nothing new in my inbox. I am trying to create a plan to wean myself off the internet and my computer, does anyone have any ideas?

2 Responses to “To the old man with the white beard on the sea foam green bicycle:”

  1. Ariane November 8, 2007 at 7:51 am #

    Some advice: to wean yourself of the internet, DO NOT choose to do an international MC term in a conservative middle eastern country.

  2. el guante November 8, 2007 at 8:39 am #

    in response to your comment, yes. i do wear black hoodies. but that’s only because i wear black every day and hoodies are convenient when it’s cold out. i’m not wearing “black hoodies,” i’m wearing black clothes that happen to be hoodies. big difference.also, you were in st. paul? you should have emailed me and you could have been the first person in the world with a copy of my book. but now it’s too late. far too late.

Leave a Reply

