23 Jan

I can’t explain why I’m doing this, it’s secret. But I am receiving no monetary compensation, unless of course, you think my poem is so beautiful that you want to pay me for it.

(with inspiration, and some exact lines, drawn from Pablo Neruda’s “Ode to my Socks“)

Ode to a Bruni

AIESEC brought me
a Bruni with a pirate hat
which he knitted himself
with his large in size hands,
because he is a solid 190.5 cm tall (according to Williams and I’s calculations, correction: 195.58 cm upon recalculation-thank you google calculator)
knitted with threads of twilight and goatskin,
he is not the size of two long sharks
sea blue, shot through
by one golden thread,
or two immense blackbirds,
or two cannons,
but my feet and I were honored to meet him
in his heavenly socks.
They were so handsome for the first time
my feet seemed to me unacceptable
like two decrepit firemen,
firemen unworthy of that woven fire,
of those glowing socks.

Did I mention that, impressively, Bruni is almost 24?
Nevertheless, he did not resist the sharp temptation
to save the beverage in Sara, Becca, and Katy’s doorway
or somewhere as schoolboys
keep fireflies,
as learned men, like Burbs and Williams, collect
sacred texts,
He did not resist the mad impulse to
dash through a wooden door
(who can after receiving the highest college gpa yet?)
from bedroom to kitchen
leaving the splintery aftermath
to hold on for dear life to it’s hinges
and with remorse,
or perhaps pride,
(disguised as embarrassment)
he stretched out his feet and pulled on
his magnificent socks and then his shoes
because the show must go on

The moral of my ode is this:
beauty is twice beauty
and what is good is doubly good
when it is a matter of Michael John Bruni
wearing a red XXX shirt
in a head shot, I mean profile picture
“All Amateur, All Hardcore”

I believe that I got the strophe, the antistrophe, and the epode in my ode, but feel free to add any other verses that I missed.
____________________________________________
(I used to be scared of Bruni, one of my first attempts at making conversation with him was questioning him as to why he was wearing his red XXX shirt. I didn’t yet realize it was AIESEC related, and was inquiring as to whether he had some sort of “side job” I was unaware of, kind of laughing. He stared me down for no less than 5 seconds and then said: “Why wouldn’t I be wearing it?”
I am no longer scared of Bruni.)

7 Responses to “”

  1. Ariane January 23, 2008 at 2:40 pm #

    i will give you fifteen qatari riyal for that poem.

  2. Hero of the Light January 23, 2008 at 2:45 pm #

    Woah, Woah, Bruni is not 24 just yet-and will have to live through quite a boisterous night to get there.

  3. SarahEliz January 23, 2008 at 3:02 pm #

    molly, you are my hero. nicely done.

  4. Liz January 23, 2008 at 5:08 pm #

    ahhhahaha

  5. Sara January 23, 2008 at 9:02 pm #

    Ummm…are Katy and I the only really confused ones? WTF. And, our door? A Beverage? Molly, explicate.

  6. Molly January 23, 2008 at 9:45 pm #

    haha, Sara this definitely requires a face to face explanation, and it might also require Bruni to do some explaining.but don’t worry i will tell you soon

  7. Bruhaha January 25, 2008 at 6:55 pm #

    nice, though I am 198 cm.

Leave a Reply

