"This is the curse of direct service: we make a difference, just not enough of one"

6 Feb

I love this poem by El Guante. Partially because I knew El Guante before he was famous, partially because I have worked in an after school program where I felt just like this, and partially because I think it can apply to so much more then just after school programs.

“My job these days is not to make a difference, it is to fight for a world in which I don’t have to. My job these days is to try and find a way to be both brick and building, to teach starfish to fly.”

The age old story of starfish: we don’t need to just throw them back in, we need to teach them to fly. Empowerment. Addressing old problems with new and innovative solutions, social entrepreneurship, anyone?

Leave a Reply

