Not exactly the help we were looking for

11 Mar

I planned an International CV writing workshop through the career services center on campus for @er’s from Madison who are going on exchange. Good you think, right? Everyone DOES need an international CV to enter the online system. Theoretically good, yes.

I knew it was going to be a really good workshop when within the first 10 minutes he said: “You’ve got to be aware of where you’re applying, think of what language they would want to be reading your resume in. For example, did you know that not everyone in Brazil speaks Spanish? Some of them speak Portuguese there.” [leans forward and does the widest smile, the kind that’s so wide your eyes have no choice but to shut, holds for 2 seconds, and then moves on]

I could have let that go if he didn’t show us the Euro Graduate website and proceed to talk about how you apply for something in France forever, after I explicitly had told him (when we were setting this up) that our @er’s rarely to never go to Western Europe. I also told him that we didn’t need help writing resumes, just converting resumes into CVs…he talked about writing resumes for 50 out of 60 minutes.

This year, mainly through @ endeavors, has made me realize that one of the things that I absolutely hate the most is when something someone else is doing is a poor reflection on me. I’m sure everyone in the audience was thinking, “What the heck Molly, did you not tell this guy ANYthing about what we’re about or what we do or what we need help with?”

When I did tell him, he apparently chose not to listen. So I was sitting in the audience, frowning on the inside, thinking I wanted to tell everyone that they could just go if they didn’t want to stay.

My apologies go out to everyone who spent 7-8 pm last night in the CV writing workshop.

Does anyone have any legitimately good resources on writing an international CV?

3 Responses to “Not exactly the help we were looking for”

  1. Meena Zia March 11, 2008 at 6:06 pm #

    GoonHaha T-pain I stole it from you

  2. Teresa March 12, 2008 at 9:31 pm #

    ok i read this post and was going to make the comment “well at least he was a goon and we could laugh at him” but meena said it first.

  3. el guante March 14, 2008 at 5:44 pm #

    if i taught you ANYTHING in my time as your facilitator, it should have been this:everyone is incompetent. don’t ever trust anyone, ever, with anything.ever.

Leave a Reply

