I feel fabulous

12 Apr

After about 3-4 weeks of mysterious ailments, a virus, and strep throat, I can safely say today that I feel fabulous.

However, I’ve also realized that, like clockwork, my sickness popped up at a point when I was so stressed I had about run myself into the ground. Last year, right around exam time I got a terrible case of stress-induced hives (we’re talking hives in my mouth, if they got worse they could have closed my throat hives). Something I need to work on is taking time for myself to actually sleep, eat well, and relax. I know it’s a bad sign when I have free time and it makes me feel physically uncomfortable, “Oh my god, I don’t have anything to do, what am I supposed to do?”

But I’m feeling pretty damn good today…Saw a taping of jeopardy on campus yesterday, Alex Trebek is hilarious! Slept for 12 hours last night. I’m half-way done with my paper, and my birthday is tomorrow!

I also finally got offered a job where they will pay me, and call it an internship–so it can be approved by my UW internship coordinator (because I need a 300 hour internship with a community agency before I graduate) Which, I already did one last summer, but they don’t do retroactive credit, and I know I will do more, but they’re strict about what they award credit to.

I’m going to be working at MSCR’s Safety Town. It’s a summer day camp for students in kindergarten to learn about things like the fire and police department, calling 911, personal hygiene, etc. I told my brother about it and I was like, “Yeah, I think I’m just going to tell people that I work at a summer day camp.” And he said, “No, it is required that you say you work at Safety Town, always.”

I’m beginning to realize that there are a lot of naming things I have aversions to in my prospective profession…as I don’t even tell people that I am a “Family, Community, and Consumer Education-Community Leadership and Development major,” when I say it I just skip right over the beginning to the end part. That’s because family and consumer education immediately draws up images of my 7th grade FACE teacher Miss Windquist who was no less than 70 years old, had a Guiness record breaking arm hair length, and taught us how to cook and sew.

In actuality I’m entirely intrigued by community education, and although I don’t want to spend the rest of my days teaching people how to cook and sew, I think things like parenting classes are extremely important.

So, I’m going to start being more honest about the name of my major and Safety Town, haha, because I’m feeling fabulous.

3 Responses to “I feel fabulous”

  1. Anonymous April 13, 2008 at 3:14 pm #

    Happy Birthday Molly

  2. Alex April 13, 2008 at 4:09 pm #

    Miss Windquist’s arm hair really was off the charts. She told 7,000,000 personal stories in a year, too- I still remember how much her husband liked fish tacos and that when she first graduated she couldn’t get a teaching job in Iowa because she was married.

  3. Liz April 13, 2008 at 4:31 pm #

    I totally went to safety town in kindergarten. They let you drive around on big wheels in a fake neighborhood to teach you about traffic safety. I liked it so much that I even volunteered for a summer in middle school.p.s. is this internship in Madison?

Leave a Reply

