oh my gosh

1 Oct

The doorbell just rang, it was the UPS man with a package for my upstairs neighbor.

I asked him if he needed her to sign, but when he answered, “No, anyone can sign,” I don’t think he knew what he was getting himself into.

Whenever I think me being a space cadette has reached it’s all time high, I surprise myself by taking it to new levels.

After I signed my name he asked me, “And what’s your last name?” as if he were hoping to prompt some sort of action. I told him, so I was annoyed when he asked a second time. Right as I was shutting the door and thinking to myself, “Read your freaking tablet UPS man,” I came to the realization that he was asking because I only had signed “Molly.”

Suddenly I realized that I was the jerk.

The man was probably thinking, “Who do you think you are? Cher? Madonna? and if you’re going one-name only don’t you think you should pick something more original? I could walk down the street and find dozens of Molly’s…okay, maybe not on the street, but definitely at the neighborhood dog pound.”

I then proceeded to crack up by myself for about 5 minutes.

In other news, felt a little bit like I was skanking myself for democracy as I waited more than an hour to hear Adam Brody (and Joy Bryant) speak about why they support Obama. As a devout (first 3 seasons) OC fan, it was all worth it for that half a second of intense eye contact that (I think) Adam Brody and I shared.

7 Responses to “oh my gosh”

  1. Carybeth October 2, 2008 at 7:31 pm #

    haha this story cracks me up. i am in the law library right now and i laughed out loud. not like an obnoxious molly laugh…but still a laugh. good story. and going to the pound to find a dozen mollys, so true. wove you. 🙂

  2. Teresa October 2, 2008 at 9:01 pm #

    Molly doesn’t have obnoxious laughs. She only has belly laughs when things are really funny. Which make me laugh even more at what we were laughing at in the first place.GOD I should have skipped work for Adam….

  3. Meena Zia October 2, 2008 at 10:10 pm #

    Beautiful.Also- I went to the animal shelter in waukesha and saw NO dogs named Molly. I think that name for humans is making a comeback

  4. Katy October 2, 2008 at 11:58 pm #

    oooo jealous. that you talked to the UPS man.

  5. Katy October 2, 2008 at 11:58 pm #

    so*

  6. Teresa October 7, 2008 at 11:39 pm #

    I had to sign for packages at my house the other day….was SO tempted to just write Teresa.

  7. Honey Almond October 30, 2008 at 3:53 pm #

    Ha..Ha..I’m not sure who Adam Brody is but I’m sure he was sharing that special moment with you too.

Leave a Reply

