Whelmed

6 Dec

“I know you can be overwhelmed and underwhelmed, but can you ever be just whelmed?”

…”I think you can in Europe”

–10 Things I Hate About You

I had my study abroad orientation for Santiago, Chile today. I leave mid-February, but I would definitely say I’m feeling just whelmed. I resisted the temptation to roll my eyes (I know I’m a jerk) while people asked questions like: “How dangerous is it exactly?” ” You’re positive we can drink the water there?” and “I’ve heard that women in Chile dress much more conservatively than American women, how should we dress?”

Before leaving for Colombia I was in a constant state of such intense feelings. Excited, worried, feeling totally uninformed, losing sleep etc. Some days I felt as if I was willingly walking towards a death sentence, while many around me confirmed this with cute comments like: “Don’t get abducted by the FARC, watch out for the cocaine, etc.”

I’m feeling totally safe and secure going to Chile, and as a result I haven’t spent a lot of time thinking about it. I know that once I’m there I will be extremely excited to once again be surrounded by Latin culture, and I’m sure I will quickly feel at home.

I guess for now though, I’m just feeling whelmed…I guess also proving to be the exception to the rule from above as I’m located in Wisconsin, not Europe.


8 Responses to “Whelmed”

  1. Katy December 6, 2008 at 8:59 am #

    please don’t think you will be safe and secure going to Chile.I’m not saying you won’t be; but not being alert/on guard- specially when out and about- will ONLY bring bad news.It’s going to be amazing; pero me imagino q it won’t be a walk en el parque.

  2. Molly December 6, 2008 at 5:54 pm #

    Oh, I know.Just the fact that there’s no threat of guerilla violence within miles has been making me rest easier at night.

  3. Arthur December 6, 2008 at 6:49 pm #

    Through anecdotal evidence, Santiago in my estimation has the second highest incidence of pickpockets, only beat by Cuzco. I agree though, people are funnily stupid. Suerte con el viaje y avisame si quieres contactos en Baires.

  4. Molly December 6, 2008 at 8:45 pm #

    Gracias Arthur!I do want contacts in Baires– I just found out the bus ride is only 24 hours from Santiago!Also Arthur I need the link to your blog… I think I remember you moving it off of nomadlife…but I do not recall where to.:)

  5. Teresa December 7, 2008 at 11:59 pm #

    I am going to Colombia and not losing sleep yet.Now I feel like I should be worrying more. Cool.

  6. Molly December 8, 2008 at 2:37 am #

    You should NOT be worrying more.You’ll be fine, glorious even.I was worrying because I was a baby, had never been to south america, and didn’t know anyone personally (I had never met sarah staff in the flesh until I was in colombia) that had been to colombia.

  7. syd December 9, 2008 at 3:41 pm #

    screw chile. come back to colombia and study at UPB. they have foreign relations and human ecology and all that stuff you dođŸ™‚

  8. kdoran December 30, 2008 at 2:49 pm #

    BLOGGING! I’ve noticed your posts have condensed a bit since my last visit. This must change when you’re in Chile, maybe go with biweekly novellas.

Leave a Reply

