Perhaps I would rather be sitting in a bowl of soup?

12 Feb

This morning I’m talking with the kids about Sat’s party. I said you would be in Chile … then as Grace is going to bed tonight, she said, Mom, why won’t Molly be here Sat? I said she will be in Chile in South America, we’ll look at the globe tomorrow … her response? “Oh … I thought you meant the soup.” Okay … did she think you’d be sitting in a bowl of soup?

My Aunt Colleen relaying the thoughts of my seven (right?!) year old cousin, Grace.

While I don’t think sitting in a bowl of chili would actually be an improvement upon my current situation (especially if you know my food preferences) I am delayed in the Chicago airport and I will now miss my connecting flight to Santiago because I won’t get into Miami until midnight.  They said they would put me up in a hotel, but the next flight to Santiago isn’t until 9:15 pm tomorrow, so now I will get in on Friday morning.

They said I could have stayed in Chicago– but I figured in Miami there’s a free hotel and exploring to be done; I’ve never been there before.

Now if I could only be sure that the friend of a friend of a friend who was picking me up at the airport got the email saying I won’t be there…

P.S. Does anyone have any recommendations of things to do in Miami?

3 Responses to “Perhaps I would rather be sitting in a bowl of soup?”

  1. Maggie February 12, 2009 at 4:02 pm #

    you should probably just listen to will smith on repeat.

  2. Colleen February 12, 2009 at 8:31 pm #

    Think of it this way – you’re getting closer to your destination … besides, snow could be heading this way north, hey ….

  3. kristen February 16, 2009 at 8:42 pm #

    maybe you can get chili made with a white sauce?

Leave a Reply

