A Conglomeration of Sorts

24 Feb

As my English is beginning to fade there is a high probability that I am using conglomeration incorrectly in context– Miss Emily?

Anyways, a few entirely random points:

1. If you have a blog and you list me in your sidebar PLEASE take a second to change my link from nomadlife to here.  I´ve been getting ¨Why aren´t you blogging?!?!?!¨messages, and nomadlife won´t let me add anything to my blog so I can´t even list my new address.

2. I mentioned in my previous entry that I am going to start a ¨Wall Art of the Week¨entry on my blog.  I should alert you that I am also going to start a ¨Most Fabulously Ridiculous Hair Style of the Week¨ entry.  I´m alerting you because you will need to mentally prepare yourself.  The men´s hairstyles here are growing on me all too quickly.  I accidentally exclaimed yesterday: ¨That´s the most fabulous mullet-rat tail that I´ve seen yet!¨ Lisa quickly reminded me that I had just used the words ¨fabulous, mullet, and rat rail¨ in the same sentence.  I didn´t think it could be outdone, but today I saw a mullet-rat tail that was dreadlocked.  Point, Santiago.

3. The next time you drink a glass of water and then leave your house to go to the, oh, say neighborhood Target, grocery store, restaurant [fill in practically any public place here], and then you use their public bathroom, CHERISH IT!  Smile and think wow this is just so convenient, what a great law that the United States mandates that public areas have public restrooms.  Then realize that if you happen to be stopping by Santiago to visit me [which you should be] that you will casi nunca (practically never) be able to enjoy this same convenience.

4. Even though I don´t have internet at my house yet (I feel totally overwhelmed every time I sign online- so I apologize for how scatterbrained I´m sure I sound) I completely lucked out with my house.  The duena of my house is so fabulous: super chatty and helpful with my Spanish and correcting my homework, with directions, with any questions that I have.  Every day I come home she asks me how my day was and how my class was.  From hearing stories from other kids on my program I realized how lucky my living situation is, I´m really happy with the house.

5. Please also appreciate www.pandora.com  The licensing agreements ban it from being used outside of the U.S., qué triste!

6. For clarification purposes about my current and future whereabouts (after receiving a concerned comment from my cousin Kristen who is getting married this fourth of july), I am flying back into the States on July 2nd.  I am going to Kristen and Matt´s wedding on July 4th.  I applied for a grant, which if I get I will use to return to Colombia (Bogotá this time), leaving a few days after the wedding and coming back for fall semester at Madison a week before school starts.  The grant I applied for is to work with an Institute in Bogotá that does research on educational methods and curricula…I would work specifically on their nonviolence education programs that have been created to counteract the effects of children growing up in a state of violence.

7. FOOD!  This particular point is for my Aunt Melanie.  Aunt Melanie, you will be happy to know that today I went out to lunch, and even though I was tempted by the grilled cheese listed on the menu I opted instead for a spinach crepe!  The cuisine here is very bread heavy and non-spicy…if you know me you know that this is working out quite perfectly.  I´ve found it fairly easy to eat vegetarian so far while I´ve been here, I even went to a vegetarian restaurant with my roommates.  So as not to offend people I´ve taken to eating things like tomatoes and onions, can you believe it?  The fruit and juices here are much fresher and delicious than in the U.S., the cheese is considerably less delicious here as compared to Wisconsin.  I don´t feel as if the food here is too exotic, it seems to be a lot of what we have in the U.S. just in different forms or packaged differently…or a LONG time ago.  At the supermarket by my house, as well as many other locations I´ve explored, practically everything is expired.  I´ve taken to aiming to buy food and drinks that were packaged in 2009 and ruling out 2008s and prior.  Sometimes I pretend like I don´t understand the way they write the date here, which is normally day-month-year.  While I clearly know that there are not 16 months in a year, it somehow makes me feel less horrified about the true packaging date of the item I´m buying.  I´ll be on the look out for more exotic things to try and keep you updated Aunt Melanie, in the mean time I´ll just be thinking about Grandma Hanick´s Valentine´s cookies that I missed!

5 Responses to “A Conglomeration of Sorts”

  1. Teresa February 25, 2009 at 2:08 am #

    I also deeply miss public restrooms. And generally if you are so lucky as to encounter one, there’s no toilet seat or paper. Love it.

    Wisconsin cheese, how I miss thee.

  2. kdoran February 25, 2009 at 2:51 am #

    I am walking over to whatever backwater office administers Hildales and vandalizing your entry.

    I’m sorry.

    I know you think you’re future career/happiness would benefit immensely from a summer in Colombia, but you are sacrificing your youth Molly, the last summer in Madison, for a career. YOU ARE ONLY YOUNG ONCE.

    Revoking your application from the Hildale office, while seemingly the last thing a good friend would do, is actually the first. I cannot sit by and watch you give up so much and still call myself a good Christian, a good human being, a good friend.

    You’ll thank me on the terrace, by the sunset, on July 5th, while we are still young.

  3. Colleen February 25, 2009 at 4:31 am #

    You didn’t mention how the custard is – compared to WI?

  4. Molly February 27, 2009 at 2:52 pm #

    Kevin: haha I am only young once, you’re right, but you couldn’t drive the point home with the video because when I clicked it I got the message: “This video is not available in your country”

    Colombia is less so for my career, and more so just that I LOVE Colombians, hahah. But also Kevin, I am officially extending summer into all of September (no homework during that month is really that important anyways) so we are going to be at the terrace every night.

    Aunt Collen: I’ve tried ice cream here, but I haven’t seen/don’t think they have custard! sad.

  5. melanie hanick March 3, 2009 at 4:28 pm #

    Hi Molly, I just read your blog. It was wonderful! It has been a few days since I was on line to read about your adventures. I loved hearing about the traditions, fines, and sadly the puppy situation. I’m so glad you are trying the local cuisine. Tomatoes and onions…you are living dangerously. I told you it would happen sooner or later. I’m sorry I didn’t get those sugar cookies out earlier before you left Molly. Next year for sure! I’ve been substitute teaching-even in the H.S. – Kate not to happy about that. More later. Miss you lots. Don’t worry about the spiders. If they haven’t bit you yet they probably aren’t interested. Take care and have a blast exploring. Love you, Aunt Melanie

Leave a Reply

