An update

1 Apr

Went to the American Embassy today and got my Chilean ID back…so it turns out it wasn’t a phishing attempt, haha.

I was curious to find out how they got the ID that “I had left there” (a place I had never in my life been to).  Apparently one of the guards found it on the ground outside the gates of the embassy and handed it over to American Citizen Services.

The lady giving me back my ID chucked to herself while handing it over and then said, “Nice thief, he must have known it took you a long time to get it.”

I guess it will be a mystery forever…I can’t actually imagine that the thief would take his time to make it all the way to the fanciest part of town just to throw my ID on the ground outside, but I also think that if someone random found it and trekked all the way over to the embassy they would have at least handed it to the guys in the reception?

I guess the world will never know.

Now, I just need to work on lifting that permanent block from my ID.

Leave a Reply

