I’m writing this post instead of studying for my exam in Seminar of Latin America in the 20th Century, where my professor hasn’t talked about the 20th century once…hm?

16 Apr

In Chile when you want to take a shower or need hot water, you need to light a califont with a match.

This is a califont:

califontThe burnt looking part of the machine is where normally there’s a little tiny flame burning and you stick the match in.  However the other day there was some sort of gas leak issue with the system at my house and we couldn’t get it to light.  We soon found out that we’d have to get the whole system replaced, which would be difficult because our old system was gas arriving through underground pipes from Argentina…when I found this out I kept imagining just one single pipe running from just our house all the way to Argentina, I kept drawing the conclusion that this was probably illegal (Then I laughed, because clearly it’s an entire system, not just ONE pipe running to ONLY our house)

So the system we opted for is to buy big replaceable gas tanks [from Chile] to connect to the califont and stove…buy local?

The fact that the brand of the new califont is called “Junkers” has me interested to see how this will all actually work.

Anyways, the stove isn’t hooked up yet which is adding an obstacle into Lisa and I’s baking plans before my party on Friday.  It will be hooked up eventually though and then we can go back to making jokes like: “Oh hey, I’m going to preheat the oven” [lights match, lights stove] “Ok, it’s preheated.”

Or my personal favorite, [which first occurred the day we attempted to make a key lime pie only to discover the grocery store didn’t sell limes, graham crackers, or a few other ingredients, and we thought it was a huge triumph to even have it ready to put it in the oven] when we said, “Ok, it has to cook for 25 minutes at 350 degrees.”

To which Anita responded while laughing, “Okay, you can have big flame, or little flame, there’s no such thing as degrees here.”

2 Responses to “I’m writing this post instead of studying for my exam in Seminar of Latin America in the 20th Century, where my professor hasn’t talked about the 20th century once…hm?”

  1. Teresa April 16, 2009 at 6:18 pm #

    I have found baking here to be quite a challenge as well. Everything takes at least 3x as long as it’s supposed to, even using an oven that supposedly has degrees and supposedly converting from F to C correctly.

  2. Lorraine Reddy April 19, 2009 at 6:17 pm #

    I am glad Matt & Kristen have started a new tradition for birthdays. That was pretty cool. Gma

Leave a Reply

