23 Apr

Today while walking out of the mall along an extremely long pedestrian bridge I suddenly noticed the music playing overhead:

It was awful techno music (not all techno is awful, but this most definitely was)

with a sing-song female voice repeating over and over again:

“We’re going to eat pizza.

We’re going to go to the islands.

We’re going to have a party

in the Mediterranean Sea.”

I was so confused by what exactly it was that we were going to do I had to listen to it a few times before understanding; luckily those 4 same lines got repeated no less than 18 times.

When I finally confirmed that it did in fact say: “We’re going to eat pizza” I burst out laughing really loudly…by myself.  I looked around for someone to confirm how ridiculous it was but I was met with blank stares.

I’ve noticed that English music that no longer receives air time (Read: Eye of the Tiger) in the States definitely finds a second or “accidental” market for years to come in countries that don’t speak English…but this song at the mall had clearly been WRITTEN for people who don’t speak English.  I mean, you couldn’t honestly write the lyric “We’re going to eat pizza” KNOWING that people who understand what that means would be listening to it and still find a way to sleep at night.

_________________________________________

HAHA, upon further investigation I just learned that they weren’t going to eat pizza, they were going to IBIZA.

Maybe I was met with blank stares because they knew what it said all along?

I think I’m still going to go with no.

3 Responses to “”

  1. carybeth April 23, 2009 at 2:20 am #

    this is hilarious. it does sound like “we’re going to eat pizza.”

    my question: how did you manage to find this song by googling “we’re going to eat pizza”?

  2. Teresa April 23, 2009 at 6:47 pm #

    I just died of laughter. If I had been there, I would have been able to confirm for your how ridiculous that song is.

    And what is up with the animated dancers in the video?! Their waists are so small I think they would snap in half if they were actually made of flesh and bone.

  3. Liz April 28, 2009 at 2:58 am #

    i might have to say that all techno is awful. at least it is here.

Leave a Reply

