Me gusta el primer traguito de cafe

8 Jun

I had an awesome weekend.

Friday night I went to a Brazilian AIESEC trainee’s birthday party.  We got there kind of late and everyone was leaving to go dance at an electronica club.  Luckily, I overhead a couple people saying they were splitting from the group to go dance Salsa!  So we opted for Club Mangosta where we danced salsa and merengue til 5 am.  I walked away with one only wound to my Achilles from another woman’s razor sharp heels on the dance floor…I hope it scars.

Why do I hope it scars, you might ask?

Well, that would make it the second scar on my body that I’ve received while salsa/merengue dancing in Chile…and there are some scars that you can glance at years in the future and say, “Ahh, memories.”  I’m big into nostalgia, can you tell?

Nostalgia is what made night 2 of my weekend so great as we headed to a restaurant called Mi Tierra Colombiana.  I ate patacon and drank a jugo de mango en leche as we watched the Colombia vs. Argentina soccer game.  Even though they lost, within 5 minutes they began clearing a dance floor (while playing this song, my favorite: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azAjn8jHt5Y) and then a live salsa/merengue band took the stage!  We danced merengue, drank Ron Medellin (for all of my little gringuitos colombianos that are currently there– you will realize how good Ron Medellin is once you leave, so take advantage of it now), and befriended the table next to us after they asked us, “Are you gringos?” during the city pride shout out section of the evening where the band yelled, let me hear Cartagena….Barranquilla…Bogota….Cali….Santa Marta….Medellin!!!!!

I obviously did a little fist pump for Paisa pride.

🙂

3 Responses to “Me gusta el primer traguito de cafe”

  1. Teresa June 8, 2009 at 8:17 pm #

    Why do you find people to dance salsa and merengue with you in Chile and I can find none in Colombia?!?!

    And me encanta patacon…I´m planning on making it when I get back to the US so you can come over🙂

  2. michael June 20, 2009 at 9:53 pm #

    Dad says “I miss my Molly’s blogs.”

    I agree.

  3. Carybeth June 20, 2009 at 9:54 pm #

    whoops, that last comment was supposed to be from me, i didn’t realize dad’s email was saved in the computer.

Leave a Reply

