Nosssssa Senhora

17 Aug

Oh where to begin.

I got into Sao Paulo on Saturday morning and walked out of the airport ready to seize the day.  I was informed that after paying the small fee of $78 USD I could arrive by taxi to my hostel.  Um, no thank you.  Instead I blindly tried to navigate my way to the hostel, with nothing but an address and no previous knowledge of Sao Paulo’s transportation systems.  I had to wait 1.5 hours for a bus, got dropped off at a metro station where I rode with all of my bags to the end of the line that was supposedly close to our hostel.  I spent a solid 15 minutes planning my walking route from the metro station to the hostel, but when I walked out of the station looking confused a cop walked over to me and said, “Welcome to Brazil, you should really take a taxi.”  So, a taxi it was, and finally I arrived at the hostel (only $25 later!)

My friend Emily is living in Belo Horizonte and came for a few days to SP to help me navigate my first Brazilian adventures.  We have spent a lot of time roaming around Sao Paulo and getting to know the area.  We went to Little Tokyo two days ago (Brazil has the largest Japanese population outside of Japan), where we ate at a restaurant that is “The home of the Ramen noodle” (not sure that’s entirely true…not entirely sure you want to advertise that).  Our hostel it turns out is actually a hostel and a bar that is quite popular with the Brazilians, there has been live music here the past couple nights.  I’ve also learned how to dance Forro (conveniently the man I picked to dance with is a profesor da dança), and I think my Portuguese is slowly improving.

There seems to be a lot of similarities between Chile and Brazil (or perhaps just Santiago and Sao Paulo) in regard to food, traditions, etc.  I’ll have to keep track over my time here to see if I still think that in December.

I’m going to hang out in Sao Paulo until tomorrow, and then head to Itu where my old roommate from when I was in Santiago lives.  We’re also going to go to her parents’ house in the mountains!

The title of this blog seems to be a popular saying here that they say kind of like we would “Oh my god!”  The hostel owner is the cutest little 65 year old Brazilian woman who spent 3 years living in New Jersey– aka she speaks a good Porglish mix (how do you turn Portuguese and English into a mix like Spanglish?)  It’s the best when she says Nossssssa Senhora!

Ok, off to do more exploring!  I may not have much internet access when I’m in Itu, but when I’m back in Sao Paulo on the weekend I’ll update!

Beijinhos!

Leave a Reply

