Floripa!

22 Sep

This past weekend I went to a city a bit south of Curitiba called Florianapolis.  It’s a beach city, and while it wasn’t perfect beach weather, we still sat on the beach one afternoon and drank delicious fresh juice!

When I ordered said juice, the man working at the stand seemed to pick up a bit too much on my portuñol accent [yes, accent on the ñol], because while talking to him I kept thinking, “Wait, I never realized that word was a Spanish word and a Portuguese word.” As he handed me my juice and said, “Esta rico, no? Gracias!” I realized he had tried his hand at speaking purely Spanish– assuming I was one of the Argentinean tourists that frequents Floripa during the summer.  Fail.

On Sunday we visited all of the Floripa tourists spots: the lagoon, Molé Beach (Practically pronounced “Molly”), and the sand dunes.

Running/jumping down a gigantic sand dune is one of my favorite feelings in the world…walking back up the sand dune is pretty high on my list of things I do not enjoy doing.  We also went sand boarding…aka sandsledding:

We also had a brush with fame when we spotted the pro surfer Bethany Hamilton in the water at a beach we stopped at.  I had seen her story during Shark Week because she lost her arm in a shark attack but kept surfing after! [I double checked her website’s personal calendar to confirm that she was in Floripa when I spotted her]

On Saturday we went to a party for the business school students at the university (where the girl we were staying with went) that had a live samba band!  When people discovered I was foreign they were like, “So…you’re German then?” [German was guessed twice, Russian twice, and “gringa” once]  One guy who guessed I was German also told me, “Wow, I didn’t even realize you weren’t Brazilian until the third word that you spoke.” [Note to self: Limit interactions to only 2 words whenever possible]

I’m back in Curitiba now and will attempt to get some pictures up soon!

P.S. It’s still cold in Curitiba, I’m crossing my fingers that summer arrives sooner rather than later because I managed to misplace the ONE sweatshirt I brought with me somewhere in Floripa.

P.P.S. I think I should be a new ad campaign for SmartWool socks, something to the effect of: Proven by Molly- Wear the same pair of smartwools 30 days in a row, and they will only smell moderately bad when all is said and done.

P.P.P.S. If you thought it was slippery to walk on cobblestone/tiled sidewalks before [I did], just give it a whirl while they’re wet [it’s been raining]!

3 Responses to “Floripa!”

  1. corihuberty September 22, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    What up Beth Hamilton!! hahaha. That is so random. I used to be a big fan slash maybe still am… She has many videos on youtube, that I may or may not have watched. Its fine.

    Great pictures! Good work lady.

  2. Teresa September 22, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    I know what I’m buying you for Christmas.

  3. Andrea September 25, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    Want me to send you one??🙂
    Wuv you!

Leave a Reply

