8 Questions

23 Sep

Here are my answers to the 8 questions request from Teresa:

1. If you had to pick one season to live in for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Spring, the season of possibility!  Everything’s starting to come alive, weather that makes you break a sweat is a welcomed surprise, there’s still a chance it might snow [in Wisconsin], your feet get to be free in flip flops, and the air just kind of smells good, no?

2. What is your favorite Olympic sport and why?

I don’t know what my favorite is, but I definitely know what’s NOT my favorite: Curling.

I mean, really? Who wants to tell people that they’re a professional ice sweeper?  The team should at least switch back and forth so everyone gets a little moment of glory.

3. What song in your iTunes are you most ashamed of for its high play count?

Well, my highest play count rolls in at 931 times with Sodom, South Georgie by Iron & Wine…but I’m not really ashamed of the fact that I listen to the same Iron & Wine playlist every single night as I’m falling asleep.

Hmmmm…I’m scanning my top plays list and I’m not really embarrassed by any of them…maybe I should be?!

I think I’ll have to go the route of not being ashamed of any of my music, but rather partially ashamed of why the song was played so many times, in which case it’s a tie between: Beloved One by Ben Harper (Live from Mars Disc 2), which I started playing on repeat when I decided it should be the song for the first dance at my hypothetical wedding in the future [play count has plateaued since I’ve realized there’s better first dance material out there]; and Ajena by Eddie Herrera, a merengue song that I’ve danced one too many hundred times to by myself…in my room [play count plateaued when I moved into my last college house with very creaky wooden floors]

4. If you could go back and tell yourself one thing at the beginning of college, what would it be?

The most important things you will learn while in college will not be in a classroom.  That being said, you should try a little harder/challenge yourself in the classes that you don’t like or aren’t good at…it’s probably unhealthy to only do things you know you will succeed at.

5. Cookies or cookie dough?

COOKIE DOUGH!!  Why do you think I got so mad at Ben and Cary for stealing the chewies out of the ice cream?

6. What is the most delicious thing you know how to cook?

It’s been so long since I’ve cooked something delicious, but I’m pretty good at things of the Italian variety…eggplant parmesean, lasagna, veggie pastas?

On Gchat:

me: what’s the most delicious thing I know how to cook?
Carybeth:
umm….you make lots of delicious things but most things are without a recipe
or don´t have a name

In other words, I like to do a little off-roading in the cooking world.

7. What is your Dream Job?

Yikes.  I really have no idea.  I think I get bored too easily to have just one dream job.  But I would enjoy doing something where I get to travel, speak/learn other languages, meet new people, be the “idea person” for some operation, get to lead and train people, and at the end of the day feel good about what I’m doing in the world.

8. What is one talent you wish you had that you don’t?

The Latin American finger snaps…not your traditional snap.  You generally make it by holding your thumb and middle finger together while keeping all of your other fingers really loose, and then flicking your hand sideways so that you create this awesome snapping sound.  This snap can be done by little old Colombian grandmas, (with a simultaneous “Ay, ay, ay!”) all the way down to Brazilian pre-pubescents, and each time it looks equally cool.  It can also be applied to a wide array of situations, so wide that they would be too long to detail here [rest assured that in any situation where there’s a Latin American finger snap happening, you want to be there].

Oh, and also, the ability to play the mandolin [I’m hoping to tackle this one during peace corps].

One Response to “8 Questions”

  1. Teresa September 24, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    You and your chewies.

Leave a Reply

