Paraguay, say it three times fast.

18 May

I know what you’re thinking, why three times? It’s not terribly difficult to pronounce.

And you’re right! It’s not difficult to pronounce, yet it is proving difficult to remember for many family members and friends, often being confused with the beachy and beautiful Uruguay.  Paraguay is landlocked, yet I’m sure full of natural beauty that I will discover during my next 27 months there!🙂

I leave next week to begin my stint as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Paraguay.  I will be working in the Community and Economic Development sector, which means I will most likely be assigned a job doing some type of civic engagement, community technology, local government, or family financial planning work.

However, first I will go through 3 months of intensive language (Spanish, and the widely spoken indigenous language of Paraguay called Guarani), technical, safety, health, and cultural training.  My language and technical skills/previous experience/personality, etc. will be observed during training in order for Peace Corps staff to pick what they think will be the best job and site location for me.

Until then there’s a lot of unknowns, and I desperately need to pack!

3 Responses to “Paraguay, say it three times fast.”

  1. John Fink May 18, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    So great to see this pop up on my google reader! I can’t wait to see how your adventure unfolds. Safe travels:)

  2. Barbara May 20, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Molly!

    So you’re going to Paraguay!!! Nice!!!🙂
    Good luck and enjoy it!!!😀

    beijos!

  3. Teresa June 12, 2011 at 3:09 am #

    I really hope you get family financial planning.

Leave a Reply

