Un Poco

12 Aug

Everything in Paraguay is “Un poco.” [A little]

Un poco no mas, veni un poco, mira un poco…and the list goes on. [A little no more, come a little, look a little]

“Veni un poco” is almost always accompanied by the confusing hand gesture that someone from the United States would interpret to mean “go away,” that in paraguay actually means come here, a little. [Hold your hand out flat, palm down, now pretend you’re flicking a bug or something away with all of your fingers at once]

Since I have been known to misinterpret hand signals in the U.S. you’d think I’d catch right on to the seemingly backwards hand signals in Paraguay, alas I have not. [Ask my sister about the time she was ferociously waving me out of following her into a parking garage that required a permit and had one of those barrier arms.  I thought she was demanding a lot telling me to come in without a permit and then rooooollllling ever so slowly under the arm– ‘I mean really Em, you at least need to zoom if there is anyway I will fit my car in behind you.’  I really would have been done for if it wasn’t for the sensor on the arm that stopped it from slamming into the top of my dad’s car– sorry dad!]

“Mira un poco” is often said in disbelief or exclamation, often times repeated as many times as necessary to process what was just said.

-Did you hear that Juani’s cousin is having a baby?
-Mira un poco [Look a little]
-Did you hear that the father was found out to be a cross-dresser …
-MIRA UN POCO
-Who snuck off to dance…
-MIRA UN POCO
in carnival parades in Brazil?*
-MIRA un poco…mira un poco………mira un poco.

I’ve slowly been exploring Paraguari and learning poco a poco.

Mira un poco, literally, at these photos of Paraguari:

My old host family on swear-in day! [Not in Paraguari]

*Situation discussed here is entirely hypothetical

5 Responses to “Un Poco”

  1. Carybeth August 12, 2011 at 3:05 am #

    I still love the parking garage story so much and wish I would have been there to witness it!

    Paraguari looks beautiful!

  2. John Fink August 12, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    great to see you host family- you’re looking rulh cute in that biz casual!

  3. dad August 13, 2011 at 2:08 am #

    Great pictures. Congratulations! You look and sound like you are keeping up on both of the last 2 posts.

  4. emily reddy August 15, 2011 at 2:52 am #

    man…if you were back here i would secretly break into every parking garage with you. you’re good were so good at it! i definitely don’t laugh as much without you around, so you’ll have to keep blogging to brighten my day. i miss you!

  5. KathLoving August 30, 2011 at 4:46 am #

    So glad to get your email (which redirected me to the blog)! I was starting to wonder if Paraguay swallowed you up; I didn’t realize training was so long. I keep meaning to write a newsy message, but oy, where does the time go? Anyway, for now I am trying to remember where it is that people say “A poco” as an expression of disbelief. I liked it; it always made the news that was being reported sound a little more scandalous than it actually was. And it made me sound like I understood more than I actually did.🙂
    I hope all is well.

Leave a Reply

