Por fin

28 Feb

When talking to my g-mate on the phone today she said, “How are you?”

And I said, “Great, things have been going really well, in fact I think it’s the best week I’ve had in Paraguay so far!”

To which she replied, “But it’s only Monday.”

Ok, ok, she’s right.  It’s only Monday, but I’m optimistic.  I really was more referring to my personal last week, rather than the calendar week, but still, she’s right.  It’s early, and there’s still plenty of time for things to go wrong.  I would say in Paraguay that when this many things are going right it’s all about to start going wrong…but I suppose until then I’ll just knock every time I pass a piece of wood.

Schools are open again and I’m getting ready to teach an English class, an Entrepreneurship class, have a book group, working with youth to start a youth group, my older sister and friend might come visit this summer…lots of things to look forward to!

Yesterday at one of my host family’s house when I agreed to try the fish my Paraguayan uncle had caught everyone was on the edge of their seat.  I told them that I’d try it but that I didn’t want to eat the bones, so my one cousin went through and picked all of the bones out and then my other 11-year-old cousin decided she wanted to feed me like I was a baby bird. A crowd of at least 8 people gathered around about two feet away from me to watch her fork it into my mouth.  I’m sure that in the wrong mood this situation would be entirely unenjoyable…but to me it felt a little bit like love…at least in the Paraguayan sense.

To top it all off check out the video I made to market our youth group (worth the watch even if you can’t speak Spanish!):

 

4 Responses to “Por fin”

  1. Kristen February 28, 2012 at 4:50 am #

    I’m glad you elaborated on that whole “being fed like a baby bird” thing because when baby birds eat, there are no forks and no chewing involved.😉 it does sound like love. So glad you are loved and cared for everywhere you go. I miss you!! xo

  2. caroeliz February 29, 2012 at 1:43 am #

    So excited for you! : )

  3. Brenda March 1, 2012 at 3:17 am #

    Molly, I’m so happy to hear everything is going well for you! Nde guapa!

  4. dad March 5, 2012 at 4:52 am #

    Molly, you speak Spanish- Guarani so beautifully, I just wish I could understand it. It is so nice to hear your voice and to see your artwork. Good luck with everything and the coming school year. Dad

Leave a Reply

