A day late, but not a Guarani short!

27 May

Happy one year anniversary in Paraguay to me (and my amazing G!)!

Can you believe it?  366 days since you’ve seen my face (are you crying yet, Dad? or should I say CB?🙂

I constantly think of the quote from A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius: “And otherwise we lose weeks like buttons, like pencils.”

Whoops, there goes another 52 buttons!  I honestly don’t know where the time goes.  Lucky for you (or perhaps for me, because I had a strangely intense obsession with buttons as a child and was a member of a Button Club) I’m collecting the buttons as I go and hoping to make sense of them all one day.

Like one day when I return to Paraguay with my bearded husband and 2 children?!

Yesterday I was sitting on the steps of the old train station that we’re working to turn into a museum and community center waiting for my youth group to show up so we could start painting.  One of my super hardworking youth got there first so we chatted waiting for everyone else to arrive.  I told him that a woman who was a Peace Corps volunteer 20 years ago outside of Paraguari just came back to spend the summer living here with her 2 daughters and they were going to stop by to meet everyone.

Joel looked shocked, “Molly, I just remembered that I had a dream about you!  I don’t know how far in the future it was but you came back to visit us in Paraguari!  You brought your husband and your two kids.  They were two young boys, they were cute little rubios (blondes) but they could not sit still and were running all over.  Your husband had a beard…a pretty long beard and glasses–”

Me: “Joel! Are you trying to tell me my future husband is ugly? Or like an intellectual?”

Joel: “An intellectual!” [Laughing]

Me: “Do you know how old you were?  Could you see yourself?”

Joel: “No, I couldn’t see myself…I just know you came back to visit us after a long time and to show us your family.”

I don’t think I could ask anyone to do anything sweeter than dream about me and my future family!

My youth group after we climbed the Cerro. I told them to be crazy, this is what crazy looks like in Paraguay. (Joel is the one whose head is right above mine)

“And everything the light touched was my kingdom…”
(Juuuuust kidding!)

7 Responses to “A day late, but not a Guarani short!”

  1. Emily May 27, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    You always say just the right things in your blog…insightful, reflective and hilarious all at the same time. Time has flown since you left, but at times it feels like you have been gone for SO long. I’m anxiously awaiting your trip home!! How come I never knew about this button club? Who else was in it with you? Keep working hard and being fantastic! Love you!

  2. Carybeth May 27, 2012 at 5:05 pm #

    I was in the button club!!!!!!! In fact, I was one of two founding members.🙂

    So proud of you, Molcat! Love you!

  3. Molly May 28, 2012 at 11:46 am #

    Care, you only posted a comment so you could get it written in stone that you were one of the two founding members! haha. The 1st graders (2nd?) started a button club, so we had to start a spin-off club. High stakes trading was involved.

  4. brendavthepcv May 28, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    Congrats on the 1 year mark! So happy that things are going well! Stay busy and warm this winter😉 If you haven’t bought an estufa yet, I hiiiighly recommend it. Suertemante!

  5. Apples and Arteries May 29, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    Yeah Molly! Congrats on 1 year!

  6. Kevin June 2, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

    Molly I freaking love that quote and I love your writing. Congrats on the year anniversary, hope you’re doing well, hope to see you soon.

  7. Carybeth June 8, 2012 at 12:40 am #

    I just saw your reply now. I will have you know I was in third grade (I had Ms. Currier at the time — just found my official certificate). Didn’t you just join our club, not start your own?

Leave a Reply

